Sign In Forgot Password

Philosophy Circle: Origins of Modern Thought

Upcoming Sessions

1. Monday, December 17, 2018 • 9 Tevet 5779

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

2. Monday, January 28, 2019 • 22 Sh'vat 5779

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

3. Monday, February 25, 2019 • 20 Adar I 5779

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

4. Monday, March 18, 2019 • 11 Adar II 5779

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

5. Monday, April 15, 2019 • 10 Nisan 5779

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

6. Monday, May 6, 2019 • 1 Iyar 5779

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

7. Monday, May 20, 2019 • 15 Iyar 5779

7:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Past Sessions
Monday, November 19, 2018 • 11 Kislev 5779 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Monday, October 22, 2018 • 13 Cheshvan 5779 - 7:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Instructed by Rabbi Peretz Wolf-Prusan

Who are the “modern” thinkers that have informed and influenced how many Jews, worldwide, think today? We will reveal the thinkers and ideas influencing Jewish racial identity, the emerging Jewish State, post-Holocaust theology, feminism, new forms of worship, neo-Hasidism, and Judaism for the 21st century. We will engage with texts by Ha Levi and Maimonides, Buber and Heschel, Rachel Adler and Judith Plaskow, Kook and Jabotinsky, Ben-Gurion and David Hartman, Benay Lappe and Irving (Yitz) Greenberg and others. We will read and discuss together to better know ourselves in our own time.

Students will be provided with a reader of texts and sources at the first session.

Registration at lehrhaus.org; Tuition: $180-270

For more information, contact abra@lehrhaus.org

Share Print Save To My Calendar
Tue, November 20 2018 12 Kislev 5779