Sign In Forgot Password

Lay Leadership - Congregation Sherith Israel

The Board of Trustees

Sherith Israel’s trustees are the voice of the congregation in the governance of the synagogue.  The board sets policy for the congregation, engages the clergy and executive director, and establishes programming goals.  All trustees chair or serve on committees in addition to their board duties and are active in the life of the congregation.

We welcome your comments and questions about Sherith Israel’s governance. Please email our board president.


Judie Wexler, President
Art Klein, Vice President
Karen Zelmar, Treasurer
Andy Denmark, Secretary
Lindsay Braunig, Immediate Past President


Craig Etlin
Michael Feldman
Doug Gould
Allison Green
Richard Johns
Alicia Kletter
Gaby Makstman
Maacah Marah
Lida Morgenstein
Michael Moss
David Newman
Laurel Rest

Committee Chairs

Executive: Judie Wexler
Budget and Finance: Karen Zelmar
Caring (Chesed): Helen Luey and Janet Parker
Communications: Ellen Newman and Lonnie Zwerin
Development: Art Klein, Stacy Passman & Howard Wexler
Hills of Eternity Cemetery: Diane Fellman
Membership: Maacah Marah
Social Action: Karen Alschuler & Stacy Passman
Infrastructure: Alan Mirviss
Trustees: Howard Wexler
Sherith Littles: Doug Gould

Our Mission:

Congregation Sherith Israel is to be a vibrant Reform Jewish community committed to:

  • Meaningful worship and spiritual growth for all ages in our historic sanctuary
  • Individual and communal acts of tzedakah, gemeilut chassadim and tikkun olam
  • Communal support and pastoral guidance for individuals throughout the circle of life and for individuals and families in all their diversity
  • An environment that fosters the richness of Judaism’s religious traditions and cultural heritage
Wed, July 24 2024 18 Tammuz 5784